First solar eclipse of 2022 coincides with new moon

The First Solar Eclipse

of 2022 took place on Saturday, April 30, 2022.

It Was A Partial Solar

eclipse and was visible to people in parts of southern South America, Antarctica, and the Pacific and Southern Oceans.

The Solar Eclipse Began At 2:45 p.m.

EDT (1845 GMT) in the far southeastern Pacific near the coast of Antarctica and lasted for around four hours, ending at 6:37 p.m. EDT (2237 GMT) over the south Atlantic Ocean.

It Can Be Known That

the eclipse of April 30 also coincided with the second new moon of the month, also referred to as Black Moon.

During A Partial Eclipse

the Moon and Sun are not perfectly aligned, so the Moon does not completely cover the Sun.

People Who Missed

the chance to witness the partial solar eclipse on April 30, 2022 will now have to wait for the month of October to see one.

Fireball 10x Brighter Than The Moon Streaks Over Mississippi